Book review: Postcards From a Dead Girl by Kirk Farber

4 Sep

Admittedly, Postcards from a Dead Girl by Kirk Farber has a cute title, but that’s not why I bought it. Despite that fact that I often feel like a dead girl, I never buy a book for its title alone. No, I bought it after I stood in Carmichael’s Bookstore in Louisville, Kentucky, and read these lines on page 3: “I’m a thrower. Coffee cups. Chairs. Inanimate objects that may have wronged me. Things that get in my way.”

Yes, Kirk Farber, yes. I too am a thrower! I’ve immediately identified with your character, Sid Higgins! I will purchase this book despite the fact that I am broke and practically suffocating underneath my to-be-read pile.

So, of course, that’s exactly what I did. This is a small book, but I mean that in the most valuable way. 

I loved the main character, Sid, a quirky hypochondriac whose world kind of caves in when he begins receiving postcards from an old girlfriend. His investigations into the origins of the postcards are alternately humorous and sad, and continue until Sid ends up in a homemade mud bath in his backyard, and we finally learn what really happened to his girlfriend, and his heart.

I suppose, in the interest of full disclosure, I should tell you Kirk Farber is from Wisconsin, so he automatically gets extra points because this is my blog and I can do things like that whether you like it or not. But I should also stress that even if he was from, say, Illinois or Minnesota, or god forbid, Michigan, I would have gotten over that after reading his amusing – and just a bit heartbreaking – book.

* * * * * * * *

This book was published by Harper Perennial February 2010. For more information, visit the author’s website. The IndieBound logo below will allow to you to purchase this book and throw a couple dimes my way, all while supporting independent bookstores.

Shop Indie Bookstores

FTC Disclosure: This review was based on my own copy of this book.

3 Responses to “Book review: Postcards From a Dead Girl by Kirk Farber”

  1. Camille September 5, 2010 at 7:05 am #

    I am so jealous this guy thought of that title before I did. I’ll check this one out.

  2. Becky (Princess Mikkimoto) September 7, 2010 at 11:18 am #

    I love that you are a thrower and bought a book because the main character throws things. All around fantastic!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Book review: Postcards From a Dead Girl by Kirk Farber « Blue … | eBook Reviews - September 4, 2010

    [...] Original post by Sarah [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

