Bite-sized book review: The Weird Sisters by Eleanor Brown

11 Aug

These days, it seems all I require from my books is that I am able to lose myself inside of them. So, despite my high hopes that The Weird Sisters by Eleanor Brown would be positively packed with Shakespeare, and instead it was, for me, not-quite-packed-enough, I still read this novel happily in one sitting.

I suppose for anyone who has a less obsessed relationship with literature, there would have been plenty of Bill and more. But this is ultimately the story of three sisters, each searching in their own way: the oldest for freedom and the bravery to find it, the middle for salvation from her considerable sins, and the baby for roots that will hold her steady.

The reward, here, is not the well-chosen quotes from plays and sonnets woven into the text nor even Brown’s deft handling of the multi-faceted plot, but the fates that unfold after a push through the first 50 somewhat awkward pages: what happens to the Weird Sisters while they struggle to accept who they really are, rather than the stories they have told themselves about who they should be.

 

2 Responses to “Bite-sized book review: The Weird Sisters by Eleanor Brown”

  1. fghart August 13, 2011 at 9:35 am #

    I’m so intrigued! I have no idea whether this will make my own ever-grown list of books to read, but I do have 2 sisters. I’m always fascinated by family dynamics and how they affect us. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    • Sarah P. Miller August 14, 2011 at 9:17 am #

      Me too, not least of which because I have a sister myself. Sisters bring the words “family dynamics” to a whole new level, do they not? :)

      I think you would really enjoy this book, Fran, so go for it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

