New Meat*

17 Jul

Here I am.

Welcome, readers old and new. This is Blue Truck Book Reviews, and I am the queen of the world.

Wait, no.

If you know me from elsewhere online, you realize how much it has taken for me to get here. Maybe you were with me years ago, during a tumultuous time in my life when I made questionable choices, both on and offline. Maybe you met me on the tail end of that downward trajectory, maybe you liked me for screwing stuff up all the time, maybe you hated me and lurked; I’ll never know.

If you know me in real life, thank you, for everything I will never say here.

Most importantly, if you don’t know me at all, hello. It’s so very nice to meet you.

                                           *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  * 

I feel owe it to all of you to tell you what you can expect here on BTBR, so I have put together a handy list. (Let’s say it together, now: three cheers for Type A personalities!)

> I will only review books that I want to review. No one is paying me to do this. (Unless you want to. In which case, call me on the red phone.) 

I will only review books when I want to review them. I have a full-time life, in several senses of the word. I’m not going to clog up the already-cloggy anxiety works with some high-pressure schedule I set up in my mind.

> I will only review books that I have actually finished, and I will not force myself to finish one. My entire life, my mother has drilled it into my head that there are too many good books in the world to waste my time reading one I don’t like. And I do whatever my mother says.

I welcome your feedback, thoughts, comments, questions, hate mail, valentines, @’s, and carrier pigeons. I am a fan of the serial comma and also, on occasion, the non sequitur. Welcome.

*yeah, not really

5 Responses to “New Meat*”

  1. maggie, dammit July 19, 2010 at 8:39 pm #

    Completely awesome.

  2. fghart July 19, 2010 at 8:48 pm #

    Hurray! This definitely brightens my world.

  3. Camille July 19, 2010 at 10:28 pm #

    I am so psyched!

  4. Becky July 20, 2010 at 10:01 am #

    Ooh I can’t wait! And if you want to borrow any of my great literature please let me know. Tommyland is from the library but I’m sure I could renew it for you.

    Clearly I need your help!!

  5. Ann's Rants July 22, 2010 at 1:08 pm #

    FFFFWWWWWWWSHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHCKKKKKKKKKKKKKK

    that is not an acronym

    that is the sound of my being BLOWN AWAY

Leave a Reply

