In all honesty

18 Sep

I haven’t been here. You know this. You have brains in your head, you have feet in your shoes, you get the point.

It’s not because I haven’t been reading, though my reading has dropped off tremendously. The start of the semester, plus two face-slappingly stressful weeks and Stephen King’s 700-page Under the Dome have a way of bogging a girl down, despite even the most hardcore reading addiction.

But, to be honest, I’m playing a game of dodgeball here, with my own excuses. I don’t want to come out and tell you the truth, which is that a few weeks ago, I realized I’m feeling really lost, stuck in this place where I don’t know – for one of the first times in my life – how to define where I am emotionally. Uncharacteristically, I haven’t spent a lot of time analyzing this state, maybe because at the end of the day I’m so exhausted from not only keeping the ducks in a row, but also juggling the ducks and dancing backwards in high heels with the ducks flapping my in the face and then spoon-feeding the ducks duck food that I’ve mashed in my own mouth, and I’ll stop here before this turns into some kind of hideous duck erotica. (Oh, I can just see the search terms now.)

What I am really asking is for your book-loving help.

I have – this comes as a surprise to no one – long looked to books for, well, everything, really, but I especially look to them in difficult moments, in rough periods, in times when I feel I’m flailing. Now, even though this is still new to me, I’m looking to books when I feel lost.

So I am asking for recommendations, book people. What I want specifically is a business book – stay with me here! – or even a self-help book that could be applied to the my professional life or the world of business. Hell, a book about herding ducks would be awesome, but if that’s a title that would never see the light of your bookshelf, then maybe just give me your best book medicine, whatever it may be.

And if you have no suggestions, that’s okay. I just wanted to be honest here. Because having a crisis that could be healed, even slightly, by books should have its place in book blogging, too.

4 Responses to “In all honesty”

  1. Fran September 19, 2010 at 1:09 am #

    I just finished (and enjoyed, with some surprise) Wicked. Under the Dome is still in shrink-wrap, despite my thirst for all things S.K. I’m daunted by the size of the thing.

    I could make a recommendation for a business/professional self-help book but I need some guidance as to which sea, ocean, lake or bay into which you are casting about. At the most basic level, I find The Phantom Tollbooth as useful as anything you might find in the business/self-help section of the bookstore. Give me some clues as to your specifics and I’ll throw suggestions your way. Meanwhile, I may go reread The Phantom Tollbooth.

  2. ann's rants September 19, 2010 at 12:05 pm #

    I keep Melodie Beattie’s “More Language of Letting Go” by my bedside and it has been a huge source of comfort for me for years.

    Right now I am loving a teeny tiny “The Pocket Pema Chodron”

    My husband and I have both worked with Robin Sheerer–a career coach– for years. I recommend her useful book “No More Blue Mondays”

    Also “The Dance of Anger” kind of changed my life.

    Finally, because it is beautiful and hilarious and filled with awesome cartoons, if you haven’t read Sherman Alexie’s “Diary of a Part-time Indian” just do it. When you need a break from all this introspection.

  3. Camille September 20, 2010 at 8:25 am #

    Have you read Man’s Search For Meaning yet? That book puts EVERYTHING into perspective for me.

  4. Becky (Princess Mikkimoto) September 22, 2010 at 9:37 am #

    Ozzy! Can’t get any more deep that Ozzy Osbourne. It will change your life.

Leave a Reply

